BOOK REVIEWS

The Kremlin Conspiracy – Joel Rosenberg

k

Joel C. Rosenberg, The Kremlin Conspiracy. Carol Stream: Tyndale House Publishers, 2018, 466 pp. $18.29

Political thrillers are a “dime a dozen” these days. Some of these books are not worth the paper they’re printed on – others pack a punch. Joel Rosenberg’s latest offering is the latter sort.

The Kremlin Conspiracy is a well-researched political powder keg of a book. Joel Rosenberg writes with a deep understanding of Russian culture and has a good working knowledge of the intelligentsia – both American and Russian.

This book traces the career of former U.S. Marine and U.S. Secret Service agent, Marcus Ryker into the heart of the former Soviet Union for a tale that explores geo-politics, corruption, spy-craft, and the inner workings of the Russian government.

Though a work of fiction, the author blends current events into an exciting tale that readers will not soon forget. The story moves fast, the characters are both interesting and believable and is written with great skill. Readers who enjoy Tom Clancy or Vince Flynn will receive a jolt, albeit without any vulgarity or profanity. Block out several hours for this one. Joel Rosenberg hits another one out of the park!

I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review.

BOOK REVIEWS

The Kremlin Conspiracy – Joel Rosenberg

kJoel C. Rosenberg, The Kremlin Conspiracy. Carol Stream: Tyndale House Publishers, 2018, 466 pp. $18.29

Political thrillers are a “dime a dozen” these days. Some of these books are not worth the paper they’re printed on – others pack a punch. Joel Rosenberg’s latest offering is the latter sort.

The Kremlin Conspiracy is a well-researched political powder keg of a book. Joel Rosenberg writes with a deep understanding of Russian culture and has a good working knowledge of the intelligentsia – both American and Russian.

This book traces the career of former U.S. Marine and U.S. Secret Service agent, Marcus Ryker into the heart of the former Soviet Union for a tale that explores geo-politics, corruption, spy-craft, and the inner workings of the Russian government.

Though a work of fiction, the author blends current events into an exciting tale that readers will not soon forget. The story moves fast, the characters are both interesting and believable and is written with great skill. Readers who enjoy Tom Clancy or Vince Flynn will receive a jolt, albeit without any vulgarity or profanity. Block out several hours for this one. Joel Rosenberg hits another one out of the park!

I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review.

BOOK REVIEWS

Without Warning (2017)

rosenbergJoel Rosenberg, Without Warning, Carol Stream: Tyndale House Publishers, 2017, 451 pp. $14.16

Without Warning is the third and final installment of Joel Rosenberg’s in the J.B. Collins Series. Collins, a New York Times journalist finds himself in the middle of a spine-tingling plot that involves the United States President, ISIS, and a host of other details that will keep readers awake deep into the night.

As one who reads the great thriller writers like Daniel Silva, David Baldacci, John Grisham, and the late Vince Flynn, I can say that Without Warning is on par with these authors. The characterization is through and the storyline is compelling. Rosenberg has proven himself in an elite field of experienced writers and will no doubt, continue to churn out books that not only entertain but also educate.

There is so much that good be said about Without Warning. But underneath the story lies a crucial lesson that the author clearly communicates in a winsome way:

Terrorism is an existential threat that must be dealt with bold resolve and decisiveness. Appeasement has never worked and will never work in the future. Terrorists cannot be negotiated with or paid off. Only swift and courageous military might will render terrorism impotent. The policies of the Obama administration are a testimony to the negative impact of political appeasement. Such a strategy only weakens a nation and endangers her citizens.

I commend Without Warning to a wide variety of readers and trust that many will devour Rosenberg’s top-notch writing.

I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review.

BOOK REVIEWS · Historical Fiction

THE AUSCHWITZ ESCAPE – Joel Rosenberg (2014)

rosenbergRazor-wire fences. Vicious dogs.  Soot filled chimneys.  Gas chambers.  Piles of rotting corpses.  The stench of human flesh.  These are only a few of the images that make up one of the many death camps devised by the Nazi’s during World War II.

Joel Rosenberg offers readers with his first attempt at a work of historical fiction; a novel which tracks Jacob Weisz, a young Jewish man from Berlin.  Weisz is captured in a failed attempt to liberate a train heading for Auschwitz.

While Weisz endures the hellish confines of Auschwitz, he also develops close friendships with several people; a twist that offers hope in the midst of adversity.  The title gives away the main plot line which leads Weisz away from Auschwitz.  But his escape is not self-focused.  Rather, his departure is for a greater purpose – the liberation of masses in the death camp.

Once again, Rosenberg pens another award-winning novel; a novel that is filled with pain and realism, interesting characters, and historical tidbits that will lure many readers to the primary sources for more information.  The author directly confronts the problem of evil and presents hope that is grounded in the biblical worldview and centered on the cross of Christ.

4.5 stars